Yamaha YZF – R15 wins the title of “Indian Motorcycle of the Year 2009”


The Auto magazines in India along with JK Tyre presented the most significant and credible awards of the country –  Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY).  The awards have been instituted to bring the auto industry in India at par internationally in recognizing the efforts.

The awards are an expert and independent judgment of all  motorcycles launched in the calendar year in India. An 11-member specialist jury consisting of senior automobile journalists from leading automobile magazines in India got together to vote for the most impressive motorcycle on the same parameters like of American or European awards. The Indian Automobile industry witnessed several launches in Bike segment. The All New Yamaha YZF-R15 trounced the competition to win the coveted title of Indian Motorcycle of the Year. Yamaha YZF –R15 was driven and tested by the expert jury members in real conditions and the bike was also recognized as the best performer besides other parameters.

The awards were presented by Vice Chairman & Managing Director of JK Tyre Industries Ltd. Dr. R. P. Singhania to  the senior management of Yamaha Motor India led by MD & CEO Y Tsuji. The well-attended and glittering ceremony held on the 16th February in Mumbai also had a unique ‘Motoring Music’ performance by Gary Lawyer.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Dr. R.P. Singhania, Vice Chairman and Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries Ltd., said, “This award truly reflects the choice of the experts. At JK Tyre, it has always been our endeavor to associate and award the excellence in auto industry – be it motorsport or a class product. Today, India is the second largest manufacturer of two wheelers in the world. Therefore, these awards are to honour the intensive efforts of the manufacturers for extensive research & development, designing excellence and innovation to bring out products that delight both the experts and customers.”

The jury for the 2009 IMOTY included Bijoy Kumar Y of Business Standard Motoring, Aspi Bhathena of Bike India, Sirish Chandran and Bertand D’souza of Overdrive and Girish Karkera of Top Gear India. The jury members also got together to vote for the special inaugural Indian Performance Motorcycle of the Year. The award is included to encourage the efforts and recognize the concept and subject for the company who is looking at rolling out their business model in India.

In the IMOTY judging and voting, it was the Yamaha YZF-R15 with 44 points that emerged as victor. The Yamaha FZ-16 finished second getting 37 points and the Honda Stunner with 21 points, was third.

The experts judged the motorcycles on various parameters such as price, fuel efficiency, design, comfort, safety, maneuverability, performance, functionality, environmental responsibility and rider satisfaction among others. In addition, technical innovation and value for money were particularly important factors while deciding on the winner.

All  motorcycles that qualify for this award are basically new models. Existing motorcycles that have had cosmetic facelifts or small mechanical changes like different power or drive trains, do not qualify for these awards. The country of origin does not matter, but they have to be sold in showrooms in India before 31st December of the previous year and should have been homologated for Indian type approval.

Selection of the winner is by a simple voting system with each jury member having twenty-five points to allot to at least four bikes. They can give a maximum of 10 points to any one of them. A very fair and transparent system makes the  IMOTY amongst the most credible and coveted motorcycle awards.


source: press release


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Like Us on FaceBook

Subscribe to xKmph Blog